Maiktoli is a mountain located in the Kumaon Himalayas of Uttarakhand, India. It is part of the Nanda Devi Sanctuary, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Maiktoli stands at an elevation of approximately 6,803 meters (22,320 feet) above sea level, making it one of the prominent peaks in the region. The name “Maiktoli” is derived from the local dialect, with “Mai” meaning mother and “Koli” meaning a small hut.

Parent rangeKumaun  Himalayas
Altitude 6,803 meters (22,320 feet)
First ascentIn 1939 The team was led by H.W. Tilman, and the climbers included Noel Odell, Bill Evers, and Sherpa Pasang Phutar.
Best time to visitMay, Jun, Sep, Oct

History related to Maiktoli

The history related to Maiktoli primarily revolves around its exploration and mountaineering endeavors. Here are some key points:

Exploration and Mapping: Maiktoli, like many peaks in the Himalayas, was first explored and mapped during the British colonial era in India. British surveyors and explorers, as part of the Great Trigonometric Survey and subsequent mapping efforts, mapped many peaks in the region, including Maiktoli. This laid the groundwork for later mountaineering expeditions.

Mountaineering Expeditions: Maiktoli has attracted mountaineers and climbers from around the world due to its challenging terrain and striking beauty. Expeditions to conquer Maiktoli began in the mid-20th century. Various attempts were made to summit the peak, with some successful ascents and some failures.

First Ascent: The first successful ascent of Maiktoli was made by a British expedition in 1939. The team, led by T. Graham Brown, included Eric Shipton and Frank Smythe, among others. Their climb was a significant achievement in Himalayan mountaineering history.

Modern Expeditions: Since the first ascent, numerous expeditions have been undertaken to Maiktoli, with varying degrees of success. Some climbers have attempted new routes or variations on the peak, adding to its mountaineering lore.

Conservation and Protection: Maiktoli, along with the entire Nanda Devi Sanctuary, is now a protected area. The sanctuary was established in 1939 and later designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1988.

Overall, Maiktoli’s history is intertwined with the exploration of the Himalayas, the challenges of mountaineering, and efforts to preserve its natural environment for future generations.

Peaks of Uttarakhand

How To Reach Sankri

Sankri is a picturesque village located in the Uttarkashi district of the Indian state of Uttarakhand. It serves as a…

uttarakhand MANA PEAK

Mana Peak

Mana Peak, located in the Uttarakhand region of India, is a majestic mountain nestled in the Himalayas. Standing at 7,274…

uttarakhand Bandarpunch Peak 22

Bandarpunch Peak

Bandarpunch Peak is a prominent mountain peak in the Garhwal Himalayas of Uttarakhand, India. It stands at an elevation of…

uttarakhand Bhagirathi peak22

Bhagirathi Peak

Bhagirathi Peak is a prominent mountain peak located in the Garhwal Himalayas of Uttarakhand, India. It is part of a…

uttarakhand kedarnath peak

Kedarnath Peak

Kedarnath Peak is a majestic mountain located in the Garhwal Himalayas of Uttarakhand, India. It stands at an elevation of…

Neelkantha Peak123

Neelkantha Peak

Neelkantha Peak, also known as the “Garhwal Queen,” is a majestic mountain located in the Garhwal region of the Indian…

Chopta trekking 2022, Uttarakhand

Chandrashila Peak

Chandrashila, translating to the ‘Moon Rock,’ crowns the Chandranath Parvat, home to the Tungnath temple of Panch Kedar. This majestic…

Contact Us